精华
UID
性别
保密

收藏爱好者

跳转到指定楼层
1#
发表于 2010-10-17 12:44:18 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
Introducing myself.  I don't know where to put this so I'll put it here as I am first and foremost a collector of puzzles.

I started playing with wire disentanglement puzzles when I was around 6 years old.  My grandfather would give them to me so I would leave him alone. Later, when I was around 13 or 14 years old, the rubik's cube came out.  Many of my friends got them from flea markets (not originals) and I had to have one.  My mom bought me a cube and when I solved it she would buy me another one.  My second puzzle from her was a Meffert's pyramid clone that was made in Taiwan and it broke on every turn.  There was something wrong with the screws.  Later I got my favorite puzzle, a tower of babylon.  I still have that one today. Sadly, my other two firsts were lost over the years.

I lived in Germany during the late 1980's-early 1990's and picked up a few toys there, but not nearly as many as I should have, and have spent years trying to find those I missed.

In 1994 I moved to Hong Kong, and became reinvolved with Twisty Puzzles.  At that time, there was no forum, just email and newsgroups.  In 1998 I was asked to teach a class on logical thinking and immediately thought of the rubik's cube.  I called my dad and had him send my old puzzles to me.

I started hunting around mom and  pop toy stores here in Hong Kong, traveling to older districts where I thought I would have more luck.  I found Meffert's in Aberdeen, and went over and bought all types of puzzles he had in stock.  Amazon was just coming online, and I was able to also order from Toys R us in the States.  I purchased many puzzles this way.  I started going to Shenzhen and doing the same thing.  I purchased many cubes there for my students and found many more to add to my collection.  If you just take the time to look, you will find many treasures in your backyard.